2020 Impact factor 3.043
Hadrons and Nuclei

EPJ A Managing Editor Reviews Ulf-G. Meißner receives 2016 Lise Meitner Prize

Prof. Ulf-G.Meißner

The Nuclear Physics Division of the EPS awards the prestigious Lise Meitner Prize every alternate year to one or several individuals for outstanding work in the fields of experimental, theoretical or applied nuclear science. Professor Ulf-G.Meißner, Universität Bonn and Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany, Managing Editor for Reviews and former Editor-in-Chief of EPJ A, receives the 2016 Lise Meitner Prize “for his developments and applications of effective field theories in hadron and nuclear physics, that allowed for systematic and precise investigations of the structure and dynamics of nucleons and nuclei based on Quantum Chromodynamics”.

Ulf-G. Meißner studied at Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany and SUNY, Stony Brook, NY, with a one year stay as Research Associate at the Niels Bohr Institute, Copenhagen, Denmark. He received his PhD at SUNY and his habilitation in Theoretical Physics at University of Regensburg, Germany. Since 2003 he holds the Chair in Theoretical Nuclear Physics and is Head of the Theory Department of the Helmholtz-Institute at the Universität Bonn, Germany. He has been Director at the Institut für Kernphysik at the Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany since October 2003 and Director at the Institute for Advanced Simulation at the Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany since January 2010. Ulf-G. Meißner is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and Outstanding Referee of the American Physical Society.

David Blaschke, Thomas Duguet and Maria Jose Garcia Borge
Let me say that I am deeply impressed by your professionality -- very much appreciated.

Dieter Frekers, Institute for Nuclear Physics, University of Muenster, Germany

ISSN (Electronic Edition): 1434-601X

© Società Italiana di Fisica and